Failing VS. being a failure

After my first go around with etsy, life decided to give me everything at once. I found out i was pregnant with our second child. I had ended up injuring my wrist, to the point where i had to quite beading for a few months. It was a total bummer, i mean the one thing that i had enjoyed and had helped me with my anxiety, i wasn’t able to do.  So for the first trimester I was basically the laziest woman on the planet. Once my physical therapist said that i was able to bead, I spent the rest of my pregnancy  beading and making jewelry.

 

I had noticed that the things that were being created were starting to take up space.  I was running out of places to store my Sterilite containers. Everyone who knew me had asked me why I didn’t sell my stuff online. I had came up with many excuses, most of them being negative and doubtful of my pieces. I mean these are things that i created and i was proud of them, but i was so embarrassed by my failure. It damaged what little ego I had at the time. I even remember saying “ oh they are not that good, no one would want to get them.”  I knew that the real reason was cause the last time I had tried It I failed.

 

Who likes failing at anything? Who likes that feeling? I know that I don’t. In my mindset at the time i was convinced that out of sight out of mind, i so much better at other things that this etsy shop at the time didn’t matter.

 

Here is the thing, There is a difference between failing and being a failure. Being a failure means that you have given up, something didn’t work so you just gave up with the issue still being present. Failing is when you have not been able to do the task at hand, and you do everything  to problem solve so you can get to the ideal end result.
After learning that main difference, I decided to try opening up my etsy shop, I set a deadline for events to happen. Plans were getting put into motion, but that is for another time.

Leave a Reply

