Resin rings!

So when i started working with resin I Had a friend ask me to make her a resin ring. I had no idea what what she was talking about. She had showed me a few pictures that she had found on pinterest, ok more than a few. I was fascinated with Livinlovin who makes beautiful  rings with flowers, and  smilewithflower who makes bulbous rings with flowers. Both are breath taking.

Now as you all know, I dont like coping other peoples work. I like to make my own creations. When my friend asked me to make her a resin ring, I honestly didn’t want to do it at first. Just for the main reason that I didn’t want to feel like I was coping someone. After a few months of her begging me to make her a ring  with gold flakes, I finally caved and agreed.

I bought a few molds, since I knew that this was going to be a one time project. I got my molds off of amazon, along with some type of gold flecks.

img_2430

After mixing the resin and pouring it up. I quickly found out that this was not the project for me.  The first ring i poured up i spilled resin every where. The rest of the rings i decided to scoop the resin into the cavity, this was extremely time consuming. I noticed by the time i was getting to the end of scooping that the resin was setting a little.

Once they had set and been pulled from their molds, i noticed that some needed to be sanded. On the rings that were faceted they had a small lip.Once they got sanded and polished, I was in love. But not in love enough to make resin rings all the time. If I have some extra resin from a project I will definitely pour it into the ring molds.

 

Any idea on what to do with these resin rings?  I am thinking of putting them in a giveaway, I know for a fact I do not plan on selling them.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

